Bookmark and Share

Event Archive - Galiano Ensemble Performs European Rarities: The Galiano Ensemble of Victoria

Wed. October 1st 2014 Phillip T. Young Recital Hall (Uvic) (All Ages)
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm doors at 7:30 pm
$33 ($30 seniors)
Tickets at: Ivy's Books, Munro's Books, also available at the door
Presented by: Galiano Ensemble Society
The Galiano Ensemble of Victoria is celebrating its 15th season this year! In their first performance, the orchestra will offer a variety of lesser-known works from European composers. Talented Belgian composer, Guillaume Lekeu, was only 21 when he wrote the beautiful and sombre Adagio for String Orchestra in 1891. Although he showed great promise, he died just 3 years later and left many compositions unfinished.

Felix Mendelssohn’s String Symphony No. 11 was composed in 1823 when he was just 14! He was experimenting with this music form and took some inspiration from Mozart and Beethoven while developing his own style. The five movements in this composition display much more complexity than his earlier string symphonies.

Symphony No. 2, by Swiss composer, Arthur Honegger, is a majestic work that took 4 years to write beginning in 1937. The music is troubled and turbulent, reflecting the dark times then being experienced in Europe, but concludes hopefully with a solo trumpet suggesting a brighter future to come.

Conductor Yariv Aloni and the orchestra are sure to delight their audience with these compositions as they begin their 15th season, so don’t miss he chance to hear some wonderful classical music in a terrific venue.

The concert will be performed Wednesday, October 1, 2014 at 8:00 pm in the Phillip T. Young Recital Hall at the University of Victoria. Tickets are $33 ($30 for seniors). Advance tickets are available at Ivy’s Books and Munro’s Books or by calling 250-704-2580. Tickets may also be purchased at the door.


No articles have been linked to this profile

The Galiano Ensemble of Victoria (Chamber Orchestra)

The Galiano Ensemble of Victoria is one of Canada's premier chamber orchestras, dedicated to giving virtuosic performances of music of the great chamber music masterworks. The Ensemble is large enough to produce a full and brilliant sound, yet small enough to play with great precision and close communication among the players and conductor. ... more info
[Upload Show Photos]  //   [Add Video]  //   [Add Review]