Bookmark and Share

Event Archive - BOREAL SONS , Layten Kramer, Kirsten Ludwig

Wed. October 19th 2016 Copper Owl (No Minors)
tba at the door only.
Boreal Sons:
Calgary band Boreal Sons, Evan Acheson, Regan Cole McLean, and Zach Schultz, never had the same guitar player for any two consecutive releases so when they finished touring overseas in 2014, they found themselves at a sonic crossroads. They were filled with doubt and uncertain about their future. This identity crisis drove Boreal Sons to forge ahead without a guitarist and experiment with their sound in their sophomore album You & Everyone.

Under the guidance of producer Jonathan Anderson (Aidan Knight, Jordan Klassen), You & Everyone is a textured and emotive affair filled with a bevy of keyboards, layers of synths, the gritty bass of McLean, and Shultz’s commanding percussion section. With Acheson’s sonorous voice an anchor throughout, the album is a mix of light (“Strangers”) and dark (“Midnight Mass”), introspective downtempo tracks (“All Catastrophe Dies”) and beautifully layered pop songs (“Another You”). You & Everyone is a bold step forward for Boreal Sons and marks a confident new chapter in their career.

Layten Kramer:
In October of 2014, Kramer released his experimental-folk EP, which featured the acclaimed song “Sea of Glass.” The final production of the project was made possible by an incredibly successful crowd-funding campaign through Indiegogo. Shortly thereafter he embarked on a two-month tour, playing over 20 shows across British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan alongside talented Canadian musicians including Michael Bernard Fitzgerald, Danny Olliver, and Jasper Sloan Yip. Both his EP and the tour have been well received and continue to garner acclaim within the Canadian music sphere, including The JUNO Awards, Ride The Tempo, and Digital Journal.

Kramer is currently tracking his first full-length release under his own name with band mates Kheroufi on bass and synth and Ellinger on drums. They are collaborating with JUNO Award Winning Producer Colin Stewart (Dan Mangan, Yukon Blonde), alongside the music styling of Kathryn Calder of The New Pornographers, Hannah Epperson (Peak Performance Alumni) and Geoff Hillhorst of The Deep Dark Woods. For the Sun embodies a change in direction, taking Kramer’s recognized folk sound and adding experimental song structure and lush soundscapes, all the while maintaining relatable lyrics and catchy, clever hooks.

Kirsten Ludwig:
With a soft demeanor and heavy mind, Kirsten Ludwig achieves simultaneous vulnerability, strength, grace, and madness. Ludwig continues to blaze a fierce path much like the wildly creative and independent female artists she is noted to look to.


No articles have been linked to this profile